Governance and Transparency

Business Improvement Districts


Business Improvement Districts (BIDs) are business-led, and business funded, not-for-profit organisations set up to improve a defined commercial area. BIDs are statutorily established once voted for by the majority of businesses in an area and are then required to renew their mandate with their business electorate every five years. There are now over 325 BIDs operating in the UK, including more than 65 in Greater London. 

The Company


Angel BID Ltd is a not for profit company limited by guarantee. Angel BID Ltd was formed in 2007 to operate the BID and is the BID Proposer putting forward these plans for 2022-2027. 

Assuming a successful renewal ballot, the BID with continue and will be operated by Angel BID Ltd under the trading name 

The Team


The experienced team at will manage the projects and services in this proposal, with support from specialist advisers as needed. We will also work with other BIDs, Cross River Partnership, TfL, Met Police and other strategic partners to deliver activities and projects. 

Christine Lovett – Chief Executive

Tracy Henshaw – BID Manager 

Mark Turner – Environment and Safety Manager 

John Carmichael

– Communications and Marketing Manager 

Gerry Morgan – Business Crime Officer
Camilla Jacques – Business Crime Officer

Mark Mbachu – Recycling Officer
Trevor Woods – Recycling Officer

The Board


The Angel BID Ltd Board broadly reflects the makeup of businesses eligible to pay the BID levy with regard to business sector, size and location. Islington Council and representatives from resident associations have seats on the Board.

The Board meets bi-monthly to direct the business plan, develop and agree policy, provide strategic direction and support, agree annual budgets, monitor performance and apply corporate governance.

Robert Coyle (Chair) – Coleman Coyle 

Matthew Crawford – After Noah 

Louise Dawson – Bolt Burdon 

Richard Flindell – Transport for London 

David Gibson – Islington Society 

Dominic Jones – Business Design Centre 

Cllr Martin Klute – Islington Council 

Britannia Morton – Sadler’s Wells Trust 

Nathan Nagaiah – Economy and Safety Advisory 

Nick Segal (Company Secretary)
– Frederick’s Restaurant 

Eric Sorenson – Angel Association 

Paul Williams – Savills